DEV Community

Cover image for 5. Working with VS Code
Manoj Kumar
Manoj Kumar

Posted on • Originally published at emanoj.hashnode.dev

5. Working with VS Code

Day 3 | LIVE Class | 2 hours

Today's LIVE class was full-on. Nothing overly complicated but just new. The classes were held on Zoom, and it started and finished on time with a 10-minute break.

After an overview of the online learning dashboards, the tutor covered these topics:

  1. An upcoming assignment (16 questions, due on 15 December)

  2. Most commonly used Command Line prompts (cd, mv, cp, rm, etc)

  3. Basic work in VS Code

Assignment

The assignment seems like a lot of detailed research work. I will need to attempt 1-2 assignments per week, if I am to complete them by the 15 December 2023 deadline.

When I was in university decades ago, I used to be anxious about assignments. Everything was about meeting deadlines and not getting penalized. Same in school - homework and exams were traumatic! Similar to studying maths.

So, my immediate conditioned reaction was a worry also. But, I need to change this mindset of mine when it comes to education - just focus on learning and enjoying the experience of writing up an assignment. My aim isn't to get another educational qualification but to learn a new skill and build apps. Something I need to enjoy also.

Great ability develops and reveals itself increasingly with every new assignment.
Baltasar Gracian

A nice quote to remember but sometimes I wish this would happen :)

I think it goes back to my high school days. In computer class, the first assignment was to write a program to print the first 100 Fibonacci numbers. Instead, I wrote a program that would steal passwords of students. My teacher gave me an A.
Kevin Mitnick

Anyway, let's go to the main topic covered in the class - working with VS Code.

The VS Code

We practiced these things:

  1. creating files and folders

  2. upload images

  3. write plain text and headings

  4. bullet points

  5. line breaks

And I managed to re-create something that looks like a website:

Image description

The code is on the left and the finished product is on the right.

Just showing off my code again, and my FIRST!

Image description

That's it for now. It was a day of learning for sure. There is a bit of post-class work to be done and then prepare for the next class. But I will do them tomorrow. For now, it's time to get to bed!

Top comments (0)