DEV Community

Cover image for 21. Saturday hard work (Day 19)
Manoj Kumar
Manoj Kumar

Posted on • Originally published at emanoj.hashnode.dev

21. Saturday hard work (Day 19)

Hey there, fellow coders! Today was an exciting day for me, as I embarked on a mission to study code, and boy, did I achieve my goal. I dedicated a solid 11 hours to my coding journey. Let's take a look at what I accomplished today!

1. Live Lecture (4 hours)

I started my day with a 4-hour live lecture, which served as the final touch-up for a practice website our tutor had been working on in recent classes. It was an informative session that helped me gain a deeper understanding of web development.

2. Deployment on Netlify

In the lecture, we tackled the task of deploying a website on Netlify. It was an essential step to see one's work in action on the web. To see one's HTML/CSS successfully up and running was exciting!

3. Studying SCSS

I spent some quality time studying SCSS (Sassy CSS), which is a powerful extension of CSS. It was a bit challenging but incredibly rewarding, as I learned how to make my stylesheets more efficient and organized.

4. Portfolio Website Assignment

The highlight of my day was starting work on my portfolio website assignment. Here's what I accomplished for this project:

  • Created a Sitemap using Draw.io: Planning out the structure of my website is a crucial step in the web development process, and Draw.io helped me visualize it.

  • Designed a simple wireframe diagram using Figma: This wireframe acted as a blueprint for the visual layout of my website.

  • Developed pages on Visual Studio Code (VS Code): I created various pages, including the Index, About, Contact, Experience, Skills, and Blog pages. Each one is a vital component of my portfolio.

  • Maintained a GitHub Repository: I set up a repository on GitHub for my project, complete with a Readme.md file. It's essential to have version control and documentation for a coding project.

However, I did run into a minor hiccup. I accidentally pushed my CSS and CSS.map files, along with my index.html and the pages, to GitHub. This wasn't the best practice, as these files should have been placed in a .gitignore file within my VS Code, which would prevent them from being included in the repository. Unfortunately, once they're pushed, they can't be ignored anymore. Lesson learned!

As I write this blog article, it's currently 11:30 PM, and it's time for me to call it a day and get some rest. Tomorrow, I'm planning to dive back into my coding journey with a target of at least 10 hours of study. Stay tuned for more updates on my coding adventures!

Top comments (0)