DEV Community

Cover image for 48. Working through Python challenges (Day 46)
Manoj Kumar
Manoj Kumar

Posted on • Originally published at emanoj.hashnode.dev

48. Working through Python challenges (Day 46)

Let's talk about diving into Python challenges – those mind-bending puzzles that really put your skills to the test. Recently, I’ve been knee-deep in some coursework, tackling a bunch of Python problems. And guess what? The big focus was on those sneaky IF ELSE statements and how they work in real-life situations.

Two challenges in particular made me scratch my head a bit:

The "Wednesday"
First up was the "Wednesday" challenge. Simple, right? If it's Wednesday, just shout, "It's Wednesday!" But if it's not, ask the user what day it is and respond with a friendly, "Thanks for letting me know, it is ." If the submitted word is something else, then my program should display, "That's not a day of the week!".

The Rocket Fuel
Then came the "Rocket Fuel" challenge. Picture this: a rocket needs fuel that's 15 times the distance it’s going to cover, but it’s got to have at least 100 liters on board no matter what. Sounds straightforward, but handling different distances turned out to be quite the brain-teaser.

Now, don't get me wrong – these challenges may sound easy-peasy, but they had me stuck here and there. Sometimes, what seems simple on the surface can be a whole different story once you get into the nitty-gritty of coding.

But here’s the thing: while these coding puzzles are fantastic for practicing what you’ve learned, there's this constant struggle I face. I tend to forget stuff, and there's never enough time to tackle them. Life's always throwing something else my way – work, chores, you name it. That’s why I'm pinning my hopes on the upcoming Christmas and New Year holidays. I’m crossing my fingers for some quality time to really dig into these challenges.

Juggling work, home stuff, and taking care of myself often means these coding puzzles get pushed to the back burner. But you know what? I'm determined to level up my Python game. The holidays are my chance to dive deep into Python, with no distractions stealing my focus (hopefully!).

These challenges aren’t just about coding—they’re about pushing through obstacles and coming out stronger. They teach you a whole lot about sticking with something, even when it gets tough. I’m ready to take them on and come out on the other side, a better coder!

Remember, the journey to mastering something isn’t always a smooth ride, but it’s the bumps along the way that make it worth it.

Time: 10:30 PM. Warm day today. Waiting for the midnight rain. Tomorrow is my 4-hour LIVE class.

Top comments (0)