DEV Community

Cover image for 51. The need to focus on coding challenges (Day 49)
Manoj Kumar
Manoj Kumar

Posted on • Originally published at emanoj.hashnode.dev

51. The need to focus on coding challenges (Day 49)

Today was a busy work day, but I managed to squeeze in an hour for some Python study related to my assignment. The tasks I tackled today were no walk in the park; they presented some formidable challenges.

  • The first challenge involved interpreting user-inputted weather data to generate a comprehensive report on the day’s overall feel. It was intricate, to say the least.
  • The second challenge revolved around debugging a Python script designed to swap two numbers within an array. Identifying the issue in the code proved to be quite the puzzle.
  • The third challenge was about assisting a restaurant in organizing its menu and streamlining its customer ordering system.

Unfortunately, I could only crack the first challenge among these three.

Reflecting on these coding challenges, I've come to a few realizations.

  • There’s an underlying mathematical element involved, but it’s not overwhelmingly complex—more about logical thinking than intricate calculations.
  • Most challenges follow a familiar pattern with loops and counters, but deciphering their structure isn't always immediately apparent.
  • Regrettably, time constraints hinder my ability to fully immerse myself in problems and enjoy the process of crafting solutions. It's frustrating, especially considering my passion for problem-solving using logic and flowcharts in my day job.

Recognizing the necessity for practice to enhance my skills, I've set two new objectives for my coding journey.

  1. Firstly, I aim to carve out time for at least one coding challenge every day. Balancing work commitments with this dedication might pose a challenge, but it's essential for my growth.

  2. Additionally, I'm eager to explore coding tutorials or courses beyond the scope of my current curriculum. Diving into longer-form videos, even those not recommended in my course could offer fresh perspectives and insights.

These goals will undoubtedly demand dedication and time management, but I’m determined to invest in my coding abilities. It's a matter of finding ways to incorporate these learning opportunities into my daily routine.

Lots to think about and plan.

Time: 9:10 PM. Early to bed today, Early to rise tomorrow.

Top comments (0)