DEV Community

Cover image for Day 100 of 100 Days of Code & Scrum: My First Day at a New Job
Rammina
Rammina

Posted on • Originally published at blog.rammina.com

Day 100 of 100 Days of Code & Scrum: My First Day at a New Job

Great news!

I started my first day in a new full-time role as a Full-stack Developer today. Originally, this was supposed to be a part-time position, but much to my surprise, I was told today that I'll be given a full-time role. Obviously, I was delighted to hear that, and so I accepted the offer.

It's definitely one eventful way to end the #100DaysOfCode challenge.

Yeah, even I have a hard time letting all this sink in and accepting reality.

Yesterday

I reviewed table relationships and the different types of JOINs for SQL tables. Also, I finish reading the Introduction to the Nexus Guide.

Today

Without being too specific, I went through the first day of the onboarding process: being given access to the various resources, attending a few meetings, and familiarizing myself with the company I'll be joining.

Retrospective?

I'll most likely be busy for the rest of the week with onboarding and training, so I'll try to post my thoughts about the entire challenge and share a summary of my experiences either on this weekend or on the next one. I do have things I'd like to express with regards to #100DaysOfCode, so I'll get to it when I have the time.

Closing Remarks

I got used to blogging almost every night the past few months, so it's definitely going to feel weird not having to do this anymore. There were times that I felt like it was such a pain to write all this, but I think I'm going to miss this. It was definitely a meaningful challenge, and it was enjoyable interacting with other developers in the community.

Thank you for reading my blog posts about #100DaysOfCode, and thanks to everyone for their support!

I wish you all the best in your programming journeys.

Rammina Thank You Banner

DISCLAIMER

This is not a guide, it is just me sharing my experiences and learnings. This post only expresses my thoughts and opinions (based on my limited knowledge) and is in no way a substitute for actual references. If I ever make a mistake or if you disagree, I would appreciate corrections in the comments!


Other Media

Feel free to reach out to me in other media!

Rammina Logo

Twitter logo

Github logo

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
darito profile image
David Alonso

Wow! It's amazing!
Just the last day of the challenge. Congratulations for your new job.

It was a pleasure to read your progress and I hope you have success in your projects.
You are an inspiration to me.

Collapse
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Thank you so much, Daro!

I check your blog posts as well, and I found it reassuring to have others also doing the challenge. It was motivating, because I knew other devs were also doing their best.

I wish you the best throughout the #100DaysofCode challenge and your programming journey!

Collapse
 
darito profile image
David Alonso

I hope you do great in your new job.

I will give all of myself to complete the challenge, thank you for your support and advice and hopefully you can write about your new learning at work.

Thread Thread
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Thank you for the well wishes!

I'll see when I get the free time haha

Collapse
 
sadiejay profile image
Sadie

Wow!! What an ending — congrats on the new job!!!

Wishing you the best on the rest of your journey! Looking forward to the retrospective and future posts :)

Collapse
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Thank you, @sadiejay! Hope you're doing well and wish you luck with programming!

I'll get to that when I have the time haha.

Collapse
 
andres085 profile image
Andrés Fernando Martinez

Good luck with the new job, well deserved!

Collapse
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Thank you very much! wish you the best as well

Collapse
 
waseyhasankhan profile image
waseyhasankhan

Congratulate..... I've been reading your posts... It's an inspiration to all of us
Lots of love from🇮🇳 India

Collapse
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Thank you for reading my posts! I wish you the best as well in your journey as a developer, @waseyhasankhan.

Collapse
 
pikot101 profile image
Pikot101

nice gratz...

Collapse
 
rammina profile image
Rammina

Thank you!