DEV Community

Cover image for Day 6 of 100 Days of Code & Scrum: How to GraphQL Completed
Rammina
Rammina

Posted on • Updated on

Day 6 of 100 Days of Code & Scrum: How to GraphQL Completed

Good morning, everyone!

Today was a rather productive day!

I got a lot of networking done for various services, I met both of my GraphQL coding and Scrum studying goals, and I managed to work on my company logo.

Juggling

I'm starting to get a better hang of balancing coding, studying, and networking. I checked my emails less, and I don't feel as forced to check all notifications on social media. Focusing on one thing at a time is just crucial for productivity.

Yesterday

I learned about setContext and ApolloClient's caching methods such as readQuery and writeQuery.

Today

Here are some of the things I've learned:

GraphQL

  • useLazyQuery is a version of useQuery that needs to be manually executed for it to retrieve data from the server
  • useQuery, on the other hand, runs automatically when the component mounts
  • GraphQL subscriptions allows the server to automatically send data to the client side when triggered by a specific event
  • with GraphQL subscriptions, the client and server have a steady connection instead of following a typical request-and-response cycle
  • GraphQL subscriptions use WebSocketLink which uses a WebSocket connection instead of HTTP (which queries and mutations use).

I managed to finish the React + Apollo client tutorial at https://www.howtographql.com/. It was a pretty useful resource and tutorial.

However, I still think I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge and I can't reliably use the hooks, functions and other concepts yet. I should probably build a project on my own that uses GraphQL, which is most likely going to help me cement my knowledge.

Scrum

The purpose of the Sprint Retrospective is to:

  • Inspect how the last Sprint went with regards to people, relationships, process, and tools.
  • Identify and order the major items that went well and potential improvements
  • Create a plan for implementing improvements to the way the Scrum Team does its work.

Double Thumbsup

Resources/Recommended Readings

How is everyone doing in their learning journey? Feel free to chat with me in the comments and/via DM!

DISCLAIMER

This is not a guide, it is just me sharing my experiences and learnings. This post only expresses my thoughts and opinions (based on my limited knowledge) and is in no way a substitute for actual references. If I ever make a mistake or if you disagree, I would appreciate corrections in the comments!

Other Media

Feel free to reach out to me in other media!

Rammina Logo

Twitter logo

Github logo

Top comments (0)