DEV Community

Cover image for What are your goals for the week of November 28?
Chris Jarvis
Chris Jarvis

Posted on

What are your goals for the week of November 28?

What are your goals for this week?

  • What are you building?
  • What will be a good result by week's end?
  • Did you meet your goals last week?
  • Advent of Code starts on the first are you joining?

Last Week's Goals
How did I do? Short week I didn't touch the timer project.

  • [✅] Continue Job search.
  • [❌] Expand on Pomodoro timer.
  • [✅] Write blog posts. Wrote about Black Friday sales for Developers and Designers.

  • [✅] Support VC members with monthly Challenge. We're at 83,000 for the month. Our collective goal is 100,000. We have three more days to do it.
    You can see our progress on our Monthly Challenge page.

  • Personal Monthly goal is to beat my word count for last year's blog challenge. It was 3,511. (Before this article I'm at 3,419)

This Week's Goals

  • Continue Job search.
  • Expand on Pomodoro timer.
  • Write blog posts. Virtual Coffee has a blogging Challenge for the month. Inspired by NaNoWriMo we're trying to as a group hit 100,000 words for the month. I plan to write at least one blog post a week.
  • Support VC members with our Monthly Challenge.
  • Look for a code challenge for December. There's the advent of code and a few others to try. I blogged on them last year I may do that again this year.
  • Start on CSS ugly sweater art.
-$JarvisScript git push
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I got 2 main things I'm up to this week...

For work, I need to group up with various DEV moderators who have agreed to help us test a new spam fighting tool.

For non-work, I'm needing to go to my property where we recently took down various trees and use a wood splitter to break down the trunks into manageable logs that will fit into a wood furnace. Then, I'm needing to gather all these logs together and cover them up in some way, so that they'll be in good shape and last until we move in.

Collapse
 
kurtissfrost profile image
Kurtiss Frost

I have a few goals this week.

  • Get a skeleton/template done for my Portfolio/Personal website. I have been procrastinating on this a little bit and I really need to try and buckle down this week and get at least a template done. I'm struggling to come up with a design I like. I make page, get about 40-50% done with it, and then for some reason or another, decide I hate it and start over.

  • Finish more of the freecodecamp WebDev course. I am currently on the 3rd lesson of the first module. I am making slow progress on it. I am trying to do one lesson a day. I am trying to learn as much as I can to eventually land me either a front-end or full stack job. Right now I am on learning CSS and trying to implement it more into my HTML.

  • Finish my GitHub README. Much like with the website, I have procrastinated and I need to try to get it done this week. I have the same problem here as I do with my website lol

I didn't know they were goals but, I did kind of finish them. With the help of a tutorial, I finished my first completed website using HTML and CSS. If everything goes well, I would like to complete at least one of my design goals (website or readme).

Collapse
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo

I've posted my success elsewhere so I won't repeat them here.

  • Client-wise, I can't really detail it here, can I? I would like to make progress, upgrade the infrastructure from python 3.7 and a bunch of modules frozen 3 years ago to the latest. Write a bunch of tests and get a step closer to actual deployment.
  • Public-wise: I plan to post 2-3 times a day here on DEV and daily on the Code Maven site. Including videos as well.
  • I'd also like to send 1 PR a day (on average) to get more people to use CI. (articles about this are included in the ones above)
Collapse
 
maurerkrisztian profile image
Krisztián Maurer

Try to make my new project usable (MVP) and create a good ci-cd piplene (automatic releases, image deployment) then write about it.